Save the Date!
June 6- 9, 2019
@ EMBRACE BERLIN Tango Festival

The New Tango Contest

What is BERLIN OPEN:

Open

BERLIN OPEN is a Tango Contest which is open to everyone: young and old, amateurs and professionals. We are open to all styles which respect the ronda. We are looking forward to welcoming a diverse range of couples from all around!

 

Connects

BERLIN OPEN connects: More than twenty local tango schools, milongas and fashion designers support the first contest of Berlin! There will be a cosmopolitan flair with partners from America, Asia and Europe.

Fair

BERLIN OPEN stands for fairness: We will have a huge jury. Known and respected tango personalities from different backgrounds, styles and generations. Highest and lowest ratings will be deleted. All results will be published!

Invites

BERLIN OPEN invites you to explore yourself and YOUR tango. We invite you to meet tango lovers from all around the world, to exchange, get inspired and have a great time!

Rewards

BERLIN OPEN rewards EIGHT couples with outstanding prices: Winner Tango de Pista, Winner Milonga, Winner Vals, Best Couple Germany, Audience Award, Berlin Milonguero Award, Talent Award, Senior Award. Categories will be Tango de Pista, Vals and Milonga.

Queer Friendly

BERLIN OPEN is looking very much forward to welcoming same sax couples and couples in revers roles. We celebrate diversity and dance personalities of all kind!

BERLIN OPEN. Only one of a kind.

Time

Days of Excitement

Continents

Visitors

Metropolis of Tango Berlin

As early as in the 1910s Berlin experienced its first tango boom. After the world wars it disappeared for a long time. Since the 1980s tango is back in town and is happy about a continuously growing community ever since. Tango connects people from all around the world. Barriers of Language and origin can be overcome by the language of tango. BERLIN OPEN is the first big international tango contest in Berlin. BERLIN OPEN stands for inspiration, friendship, personal growth and lots of fun for participants and visitors. Under the umbrella of EMBRACE Tango Festival we cooperate with many partners from Berlin and around the globe.

Be Berlin. Be Open.

BERLIN OPEN Tango Contest

EMBRACE Festival Berlin

BERLIN OPEN takes place under the umbrella of EMBRACE Tango Festival Berlin.
The EMBRACE Community organizes every year the very special festival to Pentecost. We dance in more than 30 milongas, tango cafés, prácticas, workshops and after milongas (almost) around the clock!

Voices about BERLIN OPEN

We are very excited to realize the first BERLIN OPEN edition in 2019!

“I love the idea of BERLIN OPEN. It will have a big impact on the tango scene of Berlin.”

Emiliano Alcaraz

Tango Dancer, Teacher, Artist

“Ich freue mich riesig auf Berlin Open und werde auf jeden Fall mitmachen. Ich tanze zwar nur als Hobby, aber es wird bestimmt großartig mit so vielen verschiedenen Leuten zu tanzen. Eine tolle Idee, endlich auch einen großen Contest in Berlin zu veranstalten.”

Leonie Rettig

Konzertpianistin & Tangoliebhaberin

“I never liked the idea of competing in Tango. But I’m sure that Berlin Open will take care of Tango as an art form. I am looking forward to it.”

Francesco

Tango DJ, Teacher, Dancer

“Das es jetzt zur nächsten Ausgabe vom EMBRACE Festival auch noch Berlin Open gibt ist großartig und wird das Festival und Stadt bereichern. Ich freue mich schon, all die neuen Gäste in Berlin willkommen zu heißen.”

Sven Elze

Tangoartist & Tangolehrer, Milonga Popular

Who is organizing BERLIN OPEN

Mirjam (Mimi) Hirsch

Mirjam is the founder of the tango school Academia de Tango Berlin. She won herself the German as well as the UK Tango Championships and is performing at famous places like Komische Oper, Berlin Philharmonic and national as well as international festivals. She approached tango as a researcher long before she found her passion for the dance itself. Other than tango she is working as personal coach and team trainer for communication, conflict resolution and mindfulness.

“Tango is fantastic. Tango connects people no matter where they are from or what language they speak. BERLIN OPEN is a contest and still its not about competitiveness. Participating connects you deeply with all the others who are going through the same moments of excitement and adrenaline rushes. You get to know yourself in very new ways. It makes you grow and can empower you a tremendously. A part from that you meet amazing people – some will become friends for a life time. I am very much looking forward to the first BERLIN OPEN edition!”

Horst Martin

Horst is a “Aficionado” and tango is his passion. He is one of the initiators and coordinators of EMBRACE BERLIN Tango Festivals since 2014. Horst is the owner of a press office which is specialized on culture and media based in Berlin.

“Tango is a dancing world heritage. BERLIN OPEN will use the publish attention of 25 years of town twinning Berlin Buenos Aires in 2019. The beauty and magic of Tango can be experienced by a broad audience. Its not possible to measure tango like a sport. The contest follows rather the idea of film festivals or cultural/ art awards: The decision will be made by a professional jury and also the audience.”

Do you want to get in touch with us?
Say Hello!

Just send a message and we will reply as soon as possible!

4 + 5 =

Save the Date
6. – 9. Juni 2019
@ EMBRACE BERLIN Tango Festival

Der Neue Tango Contest

Was ist BERLIN OPEN

Offen

BERLIN OPEN ist ein Contest, der offen ist für alle, die Lust haben sich zu begegnen: Ob jung oder alt, Amateure oder Profis. Wir sind offen für alle Tanzstile, die rondakompatibel sind. Wir freuen uns auf unterschiedlichste Paare von Nah und Fern!

Verbindet

BERLIN OPEN verbindet: Über zwanzig lokale Tangoschulen, Milongas, Schuh- und Bekleidungsmarken unterstützten den ersten Contest in Berlin! Partnerschaften aus Amerika, Asien und Europa sorgen für kosmopolitischen Flair!

Fair

BERLIN OPEN steht für Fairness: Wir haben die größte Jury. Namhafte Tangogrößen unterschiedlicher Herkunft, Stile und Generationen. Die höchsten und niedrigsten Bewertungen werden automatisch gelöscht. Alle Ergebnisse werden veröffentlicht.

Lädt ein

BERLIN OPEN lädt Dich dazu ein, Dich selbst und Deine Tangovorlieben zu erkunden, andere TangoliebhaberInnen aus der ganzen Welt zu treffen, Dich auszutauschen und eine tolle Zeit zu haben!

Prämiert

BERLIN OPEN prämiert ACHT Paare mit tollen Preise: Winner Tango de Pista, Winner Milonga, Winner Vals, Best Couple Germany, Audience Award, Berlin Milonguero Award, Talent Award, Senior Award in den Kategorien Tango de Pista, Vals und Milonga.

Queer Friendly

BERLIN OPEN freut sich besonders, LGBTIs, gleichgeschlechtliche Paare und Paare in umgedrehten Rollen zu begrüßen. Wir freuen uns über sichtbare Diversität und Tanzpersönlichkeiten unterschiedlicher Couleur!

BERLIN OPEN. Only one of a kind.

Mal

Tage Spannung

Kontinente

Besucher

Tangometropole Berlin

Den ersten Boom erfuhr Tango in der Berliner Metropole schon in den 1910er Jahren. Lange verschwunden, wächst der Tango seit den frühen 1980er Jahren kontinuierlich und bringt Menschen aus der ganzen Welt zusammen. Sprach- und Herkunftsgrenzen werden durch Tango erfolgreich überwunden. BERLIN OPEN ist der erste große internationale Contest in Berlin. BERLIN OPEN steht für Inspiration, Freundschaft, persönliches Wachstum und Spaß für Teilnehmende und Zuschauer. Im Rahmen des EMBRACE Festivals Berlin arbeiten wir mit unzähligen Berliner und internationalen Partnern für die erste Ausgabe von BERLIN OPEN zusammen.

Be Berlin. Be Open.

BERLIN OPEN Tango Contest

EMBRACE Festival Berlin

BERLIN OPEN findet statt im Rahmen des Internationalen Berliner Tangofestivals EMBRACE.

Jedes Jahr lädt die EMBRACE-Community an Pfingsten zum EMBRACE BERLIN Tango Festival ein! Wir tanzen von Dienstag bis Montag (fast) rund um die Uhr in mehr als 30 Milongas, Tango Cafés, Praktikas, Workshops und After-Work Milongas.

Stimmen über BERLIN OPEN

Die erste Ausgabe steht bevor und wird mit großer Spannung erwartet.

„I love the idea of BERLIN OPEN. It will have a big impact on the tango scene of Berlin.“

Emiliano Alcaraz

Tango Dancer, Teacher, Artist

“Ich freue mich riesig auf Berlin Open und werde auf jeden Fall mitmachen. Ich tanze zwar nur als Hobby, aber es wird bestimmt großartig mit so vielen verschiedenen Leuten zu tanzen. Eine tolle Idee, endlich auch einen großen Contest in Berlin zu veranstalten.“

Leonie Rettig

Konzertpianistin & Tangoliebhaberin

„Berlin Open wird ein neues Highlight am Berliner Tangohimmel. Ich erwarte die erste Ausgabe mit großer Spannung. Als offizieller Sponsor freuen wir uns riesig, die TangoliebhaberInnen mit einzigartigen Kleidungsstücken belohnen zu dürfen!“

Carolin Rieck

Gründerin Lin Creations

“I never liked the idea of competing in Tango. But I’m sure that Berlin Open will take care of Tango as an art form. I am looking forward to it.”

Francesco Cieschi

Tango DJ, Teacher, Dancer

“Das es jetzt zur nächsten Ausgabe vom EMBRACE Festival auch noch Berlin Open gibt ist großartig und wird das Festival und Stadt bereichern. Ich freue mich schon, all die neuen Gäste in Berlin willkommen zu heißen.”

Sven Elze

Tangoartist & Tangolehrer, Milonga Popular

"I think that despite all concerns about tango championships Berlin Open will bring a lot of good things to the Tango Community: It’s a lot of fun for everyone, gives motivation to practice and to evolve one´s own dance. But above all it brings people together from all around the world. The frame that EMBRACE Berlin Tango Festival offers will be a great experience for everyone involved! I can´t wait!"
Olaf Kroll

passionierter Milonguero

Wer steckt hinter BERLIN OPEN

Mirjam (Mimi) Hirsch

Mirjam ist Inhaberin der Tanzschule Academia de Tango Berlin. Sie gewann sowohl die deutschen als auch die UK Tango Championships, stand auf bedeutenden Bühnen wie der Komischen Oper oder der Philharmonie Berlin. Schon vor ihrer Begeisterung für den Tanz hat sich als Wissenschaftlerin mit dem Tango beschäftigt. Neben dem Tango arbeitet sie als Coach und Teamtrainerin.

Tango ist großartig. Tango verbindet Menschen über Länder-, Sprach- und Herkunftsgrenzen hinweg. BERLIN OPEN ist zwar ein Contest, doch mitmachen verbindet und schweißt zusammen. Beim Contest mitzumachen ist ein Wahnsinns-Erlebnis. Man lernt sich selbst besser kennen – in jeglicher Hinsicht. Und das lässt einen wachsen und kann einem eine unglaubliche Kraft geben. Außerdem lernt man echt tolle und besondere Leute kennen. Ich freue mich riesig auf die erste Ausgabe von Berlin Open!“

Horst Martin

Horst Martin ist „Aficionado“ und tanzt Tango aus Leidenschaft. Er zählt zu den Initiatoren und Machern des 2014 gegründeten EMBRACE BERLIN Tango Festivals, für das er sich seit Jahren ins Zeug legt. Horst Martin ist Inhaber eines auf Kultur und Medien spezialisierten Pressebüros mit Sitz in Berlin.

Der Tango ist getanztes Weltkulturerbe. BERLIN OPEN soll zum 25 jährigen Jubiläum der Städtepartnerschaft zwischen Berlin und Buenos Aires 2019 die öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit nutzen. Eine eine breite Öffentlichkeit soll die Schönheit und den Zauber des Tangos erleben können. Tango kann man nicht wie Sport messen oder zählen. Die Vergabe ist wie bei Filmfestivals oder Kunst- und Kulturpreisen und erfolgt durch die gemeinsame Entscheidung einer fachkundigen Jury bzw. des Publikums.“

Du möchtest mit uns in Kontakt treten?
Say Hello!

Schreibe uns einfach eine e-mail und wir werden uns zeitnah bei dir melden!

14 + 11 =